Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes News

Ciaron Maher’s progressive stallion Bon Aurum boosted his future value at stud breaking his Group 1 maiden with mid-field to first effort in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2016 over the weekend. Caulfield Racecourse was host to a double shot of elite level Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival action on Saturday,…

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, also known as the Invitation Stakes, is a Group One Australian thoroughbred horse race held under open handicap conditions. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes runs over a total distance of 1400 metres, making it an exciting event for punters and bookmakers. The venue for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is the historical Caulfield Racecourse – situated in the magnanimous city of Melbourne, Australia.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes kicks off the Group One spring carnival racing season, and shares the honours with the Underwood Stakes. The races both form the Underwood Stakes Day, which traditionally takes place every September at Caulfield. The open handicap event is worth $500,000 in prizemoney and this is why many punters, horse jockeys and owners want to get a hand on the winning prize.Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

The 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes will take place on September 23rd, 2017.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is also significant in the sense that it is used as a stepping stone for the races which follow – these races include the Toorak Handicap and the Cox Plate. Several winners of these three horse races go on to the next level of horse racing which are the events held in the month of October. Some of the most important horses that have won major competitions in Australia have gone through the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes as a training ground, which include names such as Orange Country, Exceed & Excel and Testa Rossa.

There are three other black type events on Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes day:

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Race Information

  • Date: September
  • Racecourse: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne
  • Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Race Type: Open Handicap
  • Group Listing: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $500,000

Sir Rupert Clark Stakes History

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was first run in 1951 as a Principal race over seven furlongs, and Jovial Lad claimed the initial honours. In 1972 the race converted to 1400 metres and has remained so ever since, gaining its Group One status in 1979. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was known as the Invitation Stakes until 1974, and has also been named the Marlboro Cup, Victoria Health Cup and the Eat Well Live Well Cup.

Upcoming Races

Group 1

Cox Plate


Moonee Valley



Group 1

Caulfield Cup




3YO up Handicap

Group 1

Thousand Guineas





Group 1

Epsom Handicap




Open Handicup

Group 1

Metropolitan Handicap




3YO & up Handicap

Group 1

Melbourne Cup





Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting

When it comes to betting on the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, the first thing punters should remember is it’s often still called the Invitation Stakes. So if you head to in September and can’t see Sir Rupert Clarkes Stakes as a market, then check for the Invitation Stakes – it’ll be there. Reputable online bookmakers are the best place to punt, on any horse race. Don’t fret about getting to your local TAB before it closes, or the added stress of public transport, just sign up online with It’s quick and easy to do, and then you are free to wager on any Australian horserace to take to the track, or indeed on any race around the world. So don’t miss out!

Often when betting on races such as the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes it can be beneficial to look through previous winners. Below we have listed horses to have claimed a win in the event, and the times they recorded. Take a look then decide whether you think there are any similar runners this year! The extra bit of research could help you see a bigger win at come raceday! Don’t forget to place your bets on the Melbourne Cup 2016!