2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Final Field

September 21st, 2011

The 2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes field has been announced and it has fallen just short of  capacity  at Caulfield this weekend.

Still though with 17 quality horses in the race it’s bound to be a top quality contest, especially given just about all of them should be approaching their peak form.

The biggest thing to come out of today’s final field announcement wasn’t who was in it though, it was what barriers they’ve been allocated.

That’s where the story of the day comes with the Anthony Cummings trained Smart Missile slugged with gate 17, another cruel blow for this hugely unlucky horse.

Sure he’s won three of four starts but when it comes to Group 1’s he appears to be cursed.

First off it was the Golden Slipper, he loomed as a top winning threat before being scratched at the gates in a controversial manner.

Fats forward to last start and he jumped in the Golden Rose but copped plenty of attention back in the running despite it being only a six horse race, then he veered wide and cost himself a win down the straight.

This time he jumps to open company at Group 1 level and with gate 17 Cummings must just about be thinking his horse is cursed.

It’s very different for Robert Heathcote, his charger Woorim came up with barrier five and should be able to find a sweet spot in the middle of the pack.

He’s coming off a first up win at Moonee Valley and looms as the one to beat again here.

In terms of the other main chances Pinwheel got gate eight, Testacana 16, Master Of Design 10, Yosei 2, Toorak Toff 7 and Pinnacles in 6.

Marks on the 2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes are just about open at Luxbet and if you’re looking for value about Smart missile this may be the best you’ll ever get.

His first trip to open grade and from the outside barrier it’ll take a minor miracle from Glen Boss but if the horse is as good as he says he is then that just might happen.

Register an account at Luxbet today and you can even take luck out of the equation with a $400 free bet.

Just register an account with the code BONUSBET and they’ll equally match your first deposit!

2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1241331314 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 8 58kg 111
2 90X45171X1 WOORIM Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 5 57.5kg 109
3 662X32708X DAO DAO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 14 56.5kg 106
4 1124X5X0X5 TOORAK TOFF Rick Hore-Lacy Craig Williams 7 56.5kg 106
5 143068X036 DANZYLUM Robbie Griffiths Luke Currie 15 55.5kg 103
6 6190X601X0 YOSEI Stuart Webb Ms Michelle Payne 2 55.5kg 110
7 45X89290X4 LUEN YAT FOREVER Peter G Moody Ben Melham 13 55kg 102
8 0X90X52512 PINNACLES Rick Hore-Lacy Chris Symons 6 54.5kg 101
9 X9499X751X SILVER GRECIAN (GB) John Moore Darren Beadman 4 54.5kg 101
10 741X521111 TESTASCANA Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 16 54.5kg 101
11 41X1117X2 BLACKIE (NZ) Michael Kent Nicholas Hall 12 53.5kg 98
12 83X0X1X191 MASTER OF DESIGN David Payne Damien Oliver 10 53.5kg 98
13 1X1X12 SMART MISSILE Anthony Cummings Glen Boss 17 53kg 104
14 26211111X8 DREAMAWAY Dean Binaisse William Pike 9 53kg 102
15 70X24452X0 MAJESTIC MUSIC Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Craig Newitt 3 53kg 102
16 0X60700X80 GOLD SALUTE Mark Riley Michael Walker 11 53kg 93
17 6001060070 JUNGLE RULER Peter White Dean Yendall 1 53kg 93