2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Results: Bon Aurum Beats Voodoo Lad

September 26th, 2016

Ciaron Maher’s progressive stallion Bon Aurum boosted his future value at stud breaking his Group 1 maiden with mid-field to first effort in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2016 over the weekend.

Bon Aurum

2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winner Bon Aurum heads to the mile for the Toorak Handicap next start. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Caulfield Racecourse was host to a double shot of elite level Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival action on Saturday, September 24, including the $500,000 Group 1 Yulong Park Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m).

Tracking midfield in the closing stages of the handicap clash, four-year-old local Bon Hoffa entire Bon Aurum ($4.40) and hoop Kerrin McEvoy held off the late challengers to beat the Darren Weir-trained Voodoo Lad ($6), coming hard down the outside, by a quarter-length.

It was McEvoy’s second Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winning ride after his success back in 2002 aboard Pernod.

Finishing off the 2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes trifecta a further quarter length away in third on the inside of the winner was the Lindsay Park-trained Fast ‘N’ Rocking ($21) at the long odds.

Bon Aurum has now won two of his three runs this time in and is two from five at Caulfield where he won the Caulfield Guineas Prelude as a three-year-old 12 months ago.

He failed to step up to a mile after that run when ninth to Press Statement in last year’s Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m), but Maher will give him another go at the extra metres this season.

Next-up Bon Aurum will return to the track on Caulfield Guineas Day, October 8, for a shot at the $500,000 Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m).

“He’s going so well that I think he’s worth another chance at the mile,” Maher said post-win on Saturday.

The past four Toorak Handicap winners have come off a Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes run with the latest to complete the double being Trust In A Gust (2014).

Check out the full Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2016 results below then to back the winner Bon Aurum in the Toorak Handicap at the best odds visit Ladbrokes.com.au today!

2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Finishing Order

Caulfield Race 7 – Saturday, September 24, 2016

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 11 BON AURUM Ciaron Maher Kerrin McEvoy 5 52kg $4.40
2 7 VOODOO LAD Darren Weir Chris Parnham 0.4L 8 54kg $6
3 4 FAST ’N’ ROCKING David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Stephen Baster 0.8L 2 55kg $21
4 12 THAMES COURT David Brideoake Corey Brown 1.3L 1 52kg $16
5 10 BADAWIYA Mick Price Craig Newitt 2.55L 11 52kg $26
6 9 TIVACI Michael Moroney Patrick Moloney 2.75L 3 52kg $14
6 6 COUNTERATTACK Chris Waller Craig Williams 2.75L 7 54kg $3.80F
8 13 TELOPEA (GB) Darren Weir Michael Dee (a) 2.95L 9 52kg $31
9 14 WELL SPRUNG Lyn Tolson & Leonie Proctor Chris Symons 5.2L 10 52kg $31
10 16 MR INDIVIDUAL Leon & Troy Corstens Regan Bayliss (a) 5.3L 4 52kg $13
11 3 RANGIPO Tony Pike Damian Lane 7.3L 12 55.5kg $81
12 2 XTRAVAGANT (NZ) Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards Damien Oliver 9.3L 6 56.5kg $12
13 15 JUNGLE EDGE Mick Bell Darren Gauci 13.05L 13 52kg $101
1 UNDER THE LOUVRE Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 0
5 CHARMED HARMONY John Sadler Ms Katelyn Mallyon 0
8 TYCOON TARA Peter & Paul Snowden 0